School of Built Environment & Development Studies

Excellence Lauded and Rewarded at Architecture Awards

Recipients of the 2017 Architecture Awards and Scholarships.

The Architecture discipline within the School of Built Environment and Development Studies (BEDS) held their annual awards ceremony on the Howard College campus.

Students who excelled academically were recognised through various awards and scholarships.

Acting Dean of the School Professor Ernest Khalemacongratulated the prize winners saying: ‘The calibre of work that you produce is a testament to your input and dedication. You have shone a light on Architecture.’

He encouraged the students to continue to excel.

Ms Bonnie Bopela was awarded the Nsika Foundation Scholarship for Architecture. ‘It feels great to receive this scholarship. It will definitely help me with my studies. Thank you to the Nsika Foundation.’

The award is based both on academic merit and on financial need and is only awarded to one deserving student a year in their first year of study.’ The scholarship covers tuition and residence fees, for each year of study from the second year of undergraduate studies in architecture until completion of the master’s degree in Architecture, provided satisfactory performance is maintained at each year of study.

Mr Brent Buchanan of Nsika Architecture & Design congratulated Bophela saying she was a deserving student who displayed both academic and technical talent. ‘We invest in students’ education because we believe they are the future and can take the profession further. UKZN is my alma mater and to give back and help students achieve their dreams is inspiration for us.’

Other students who received scholarships and awards were:

Sherwood Bond Bursary Fund worth R5000

  • Mr Wesley Govinden
  • Mr Peter Harel
  • and Mr Meloshan Pillay.

Brian Bernstein Memorial Scholarship worth R20 000

  • Mr Lwazi Ncacana,
  • Mr Camrin Plaatjes,
  • Mr Austin Stephens
  •  and Mr Zecharee Naidoo.

South African Council for the Architectural Profession Scholarship worth R10 000

  • Mr Tinodiwanashe Mukumbareza,
  • Ms Gugu Sithole,
  • Ms Parishka Pillay
  • and Mr Philani Mphayise.

Garth Moyes Good Fellowship Award worth R1000

  • Ms Silindile Mgwengwe,
  • Mr Tinodiwanashe Mukumbareza,
  • Mr Zecharee Naidoo
  • and Mr Niclendren Pather.

Geoffrey le Sueuer  Scholarship worth R15 000

  • Mr Priyen Chetty,
  • Ms Saadiya Dockrat
  • and Mr Ntobeko Manyathela.

News Timeline