School of Built Environment & Development Studies

UKZN Contributes to Book on Architecture in a Democratic South Africa

Editor of the book: 10+ Years 100 Projects – Architecture in a Democratic South Africa, Professor Ora Joubert (centre) with contributors to the work, UKZN lecturers Mr Juan Solis-Arias and Mrs Bridget Horner.

UKZN Architecture lecturers, Mrs Bridget Horner and Mr Juan Solis-Arias, together with 12 alumni, have contributed to a book titled: 10+ years 100 Projects – Architecture in a Democratic South Africa.

Published by Bell-Roberts and edited and convened by retired University of Pretoria’s Professor Ora Joubert, the book documents the most meritorious final-year design dissertations from the eight South African universities offering architectural tuition at a post-graduate level.

The book was showcased to UKZN architecture students during Joubert’s visit to the University.

The UKZN contribution is accompanied by an introduction by Horner and Solis- Arias, contextualising the work of past students. Each student’s work is briefly described and critiqued alongside a series of exploratory design drawings.

This 480-page book includes submissions of the national winners of the Corobrik Student of the Year Award from 2002 to 2017 which UKZN student Mr Jean-Pierre Desvaux De Marigny won last year. His winning design, titled: Design for [bio] Diversity– which is featured in the book- explored the potential of architecture for ecological conservation, proposing an environmental awareness and water research facility in the context of Springfield Industrial Park/ uMgeni River catchment area in Durban.

Other UKZN students whose work was selected for the collection were Mr Mark Bellingham, Towards and Appropriate Regional Architecture; Mr Cameron Finne, Skills Development Centre in the Durban CBD; Mr Dennis-Lee Stols, Cardboard Recycling Unit in Durban; Mr Raz Mseleku, Art and Aid Assistance Centre; Ms Samantha Rouche, a Substance Abuse Rehabilitation Centre; Mr Darius Coertse, Building Clinic in Cato Manor; Mr Aleksander Troskolanski, a Symposium for Participatory Democracy in the Warwick Junction; Ms Brigitte Robyn Stevens, Museum of Life; Mr Nischolan Pillay, a Memory Market in Blue Lagoon; and Ms Najeeba Hassim, Environmental Research Facility.

The book is intended to serve as both a source of inspiration and as a reference work for architecture students and professionals. ‘In its experimental and commercially unfettered form, the collection of projects is undoubtedly the most authentic barometer to gauge how radically our design priorities have shifted in recent years and where our current architectural output is situated. It moreover provides an extraordinary range of highly relevant and exceptionally innovative architectural interpretations which would also find appeal to everyone associated with the building industry,’ said Joubert.

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Ms Zandile Msimango

Masters student lands top Project Management Job

Masters student in Community Development Ms Zandile Msimango has landed a top position in Project Management at Ilitha Research and Management Consultants. She will be responsible for research, project planning and management for some of the company’s clients, enabling her to put her skills to good use and to lay the foundation to achieve her goals.

Professor Brian Kearney and Ms Michele Jacobs with some of the drawings and work from the UKZN architecture archives that feature in The Berea Style publication.

UKZN Architecture drawings and work feature in The Berea Style

Curator of the UKZN Architecture library archives Ms Michele Jacobs and Emeritus Professor in the architecture discipline Brian Kearney recently exhibited prints of original and measured drawings of a vast array of KwaZulu-Natal buildings done by UKZN students and other architects.

From left: Mr Juan Solis (UKZN), Mr Lawrence Ogunsanya (UKZN), winner Mr Siyabonga Khuzwayo and Mr Chris Mungle (Corobrik Sales Manager, eThekwini).

UKZN students win top architectural awards

Architecture student Mr Siyabonga Khuzwayo was named winner of the Corobrik Regional Architecture Award. He received R10 000 in prize-money, with Master’s student Mr Kireshen Chetty taking the second prize of R8 000, and Mr Mthokozisi Sibisi receiving R6 000 for third place. A further R6 000 was awarded to Mr Mbuso Msipho for the innovative use of clay masonry in his building design.